What I Rent: Ceri, £1,250 a month for a two-bedroom flat in Surbiton

  • london
  • July 21, 2020
  • Comments Off on What I Rent: Ceri, £1,250 a month for a two-bedroom flat in Surbiton
What I Rent: Ceri, £1,250 a month for a two-bedroom flat in Surbiton thumbnail

In our series What I Rent, we’re exploring the reality of renting.

Each week we have a nose around someone’s rented property and ask them about how they’ve turned their flat or house into a home.

Last week we hung out with Fleur and Leila, who pay £1,050 a month for a flat in Anerley.

This time we’re chatting with Ceri, a fan of boho-inspired interiors (which she shares on Instagram) who lives alone in Surbiton, south west London.

Ceri, 31, works in advertising and has lived in this area for the last five years.

Hey, Ceri! How much do you pay to live here?

Rent is £1,250 pcm and bills come to around £250.

And what do you get for what you pay?

It’s a two-bedroom flat with one bathroom.

Do you think you have a good deal?

I think the rent is fair for the space I have and the area I’m in – I originally was only looking for a one bed, but this place came up and I fell in love with it.

It was only a small amount more than the one beds I’d already seen, so it was a no-brainer really.

How did you find the flat?

Lots of searching on Rightmove and Zoopla!

How have you made this place feel like home?

Just lots of small touches really – most of my furniture is second hand, either off Facebook Marketplace or from charity shops and personally I find a bit of an eclectic mix of things gives the place so much more character.

I also hang anything and everything I can on the walls, which brightens up what is a huge expanse of magnolia paint!

Have you found it difficult to decorate when renting? Is your landlord happy with you doing bits?

My flat is very old, and when I moved in there were already lots of nail holes in the wall, so I’m not going to lie, I have added a few more!

But for the majority of things I use command hooks and strips, which are an absolute godsend when you are restricted with what you can do.

I’ve also done things like vinyling the worktops in the kitchen, which made a massive difference, and when I move out I can just peel it straight off.

Do you feel like you have enough space?

The space is perfect for me – my kitchen is tiny, but just right for what I need, and I’m very lucky to have a generous living/dining room which has plenty of space for guests.

Are there any problems with the home you have to deal with?

Being an old Victorian conversion flat, it does come with its issues, but on the whole it’s really not that bad.

Do you have plans to move again?

My boyfriend and I are currently saving up to buy a house, so at some point yes, I will be on the move again.

I have rented for almost 10 years, so it’s quite a daunting thought to own somewhere, but I’m definitely looking forward to being able to actually paint some walls for once!

Same. Shall we have a look around?

What I Rent is a weekly series that’s out every Tuesday at 10am.

Check back next week to have another nose around a rented property.

How to get involved in What I Rent

What I Rent is Metro.co.uk’s weekly series that takes you inside the places people are renting, to give us all a better sense of what’s normal and how much we should be paying.

If you fancy taking part, please email [email protected]. You’ll need to take pictures of your kitchen, living room, bathroom, and bedroom, plus a few photos of you in your bedroom or living area.

Make sure you get permission from your housemates! You’ll also need to be okay with sharing how much you’re paying for rent, as that’s pretty important.

We’re not just after the prettiest places out there, by the way. We want the reality of renting, so if you’re currently renting a place you hate, we’d love to see that too (and sympathise greatly!).

MORE: What I Rent: Chloe and Ross, £875 a month for a one-bedroom flat in Brighton

MORE: What I Rent: Steph, £800 a month for a two-bedroom flatshare in Wimbledon, London

MORE: What I Rent: Rebekah, £428 a month for a two-bedroom house in Ashby-de-la-Zouch, Leicestershire