Map reveals the six London councils opposing ULEZ expansion

Map reveals the six London councils opposing ULEZ expansion thumbnail

The six London boroughs opposing the proposed expansion of the Ultra Low Emission Zone (ULEZ) has been revealed.

Plans for the zone to be expanded across all London boroughs from August 29 have already attracted a lot of criticism.

ULEZ is a designated area in London where £12.50 daily fee is charged for driving the highest-polluting vehicles – typically affecting older cars.

The map shows the six London councils that are opposed to the potential changes. They are Harrow, Hillingdon, Havering, Bexley, Bromley and Croydon.

Harrow leader Paul Osborn shared his concerns for the future of ULEZ if the expansion is given the green light, suggesting that it would be unwise to move ahead with the plans amid the Cost of Living crisis.

Mr Osborn told the BBC: ‘If your vehicle is compliant today, it doesn’t necessarily mean it is going to be compliant in two years, three years.

‘[Expanding the zone] when inflation is at 10%, when energy bills are going up, when fuel bills are going up, when people’s food prices are going up, it’s not the right time to do it – even if it was the right solution, which I don’t really think it is.’

Mayor of London Sadiq Khan is giving the reluctant councils until Thursday, February 9 to sign a legal agreement giving the expansion the go-ahead.

The Mayor has written to the leaders of Bexley, Bromley, Harrow and Hillingdon – who are all considering a court challenge to the policy – to try and get them to co-operate.

Mr Khan said: ‘I expect any legal challenge will be unsuccessful.

‘Instead of pursuing an expensive legal challenge funded by local residents, I would hope you would work with me to help clean up the dirty air that’s blighting our city and the lives of those we represent.’

Though not opposing the expansion, Richmond, Kingston, Sutton, Redbridge and Barking & Dagenham councils have all raised concerns or called for delays due to the Cost of Living crisis.

It’s not just London boroughs in opposition or who have questions about the expansion – Surrey County Council and Kent County Council told The Telegraph that they are also ‘considering their options’.

Matthew Furniss, cabinet member for transport and infrastructure at Surrey County Council, is urging Mr Khan to erect signs across the county that warn residents when they are entering a ULEZ area. 

He told the publication: ‘TfL could continue with ULEZ without our signs, it just wouldn’t be able to go right up to our border. 

‘This would mean that it wouldn’t be able to put the cameras until further in, which would make a smaller zone. If they want to go to the further limit, they have to work with us.’

What do London councils think of the proposed ULEZ expansion?

Councils that support ULEZ expansion:

  • Enfield
  • Barnet
  • Ealing
  • Brent
  • Hounslow
  • Wandsworth
  • Merton
  • Greenwich
  • Waltham Forest
  • Lewisham
  • Lambeth
  • Southwark

Councils calling for delays or with concerns:

  • Richmond
  • Kingston
  • Sutton
  • Redbridge
  • Barking & Dagenham

Councils that oppose ULEZ expansion:

  • Harrow
  • Hillingdon
  • Havering
  • Bexley
  • Bromley
  • Croydon

Councils currently in ULEZ charge zone:

  • Camden
  • Islington
  • Hammersmith & Fulham
  • Hackney
  • Kensington & Chelsea
  • City
  • Westminster
  • Tower Hamlets

If the plans go ahead, ULEZ would cover the same area as the current Low Emission Zone, up to the Kent border and into Essex.

Mr Khan previously said air pollution is making Londoners ‘sick from cradle to the grave’, with illnesses such as cancer, lung disease, dementia and asthma.

He described the ULEZ as ‘transformational’ and claimed extending it will mean ‘five million more people will be able to breathe cleaner air and live healthier lives’.

Whether or not a vehicle is liable for the charge depends on how much nitrogen dioxide it emits.

For diesel cars and vans to avoid the charge they must generally have been registered from 2016, while most petrol models registered from 2006 are exempt.

Drivers can check the status of their vehicle by entering its registration number on TfL’s website.

Get in touch with our news team by emailing us at [email protected].

For more stories like this, check our news page.

Get your need-to-know
latest news, feel-good stories, analysis and more